Reviews

ARC Review: Twice in a Blue Moon ~ by Christina Lauren

novemberwrap-up-11

Review: ARC of Twice in a Blue Moon ~ by Christina Lauren 

Gallery Books

October 22, 2019 – Adult Romantic-Comedy 

My Rating: 4/5 

Goodreads Description:

Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.

With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Note: I received an ARC of Twice in a Blue Moon from Gallery Books via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Opinions are all mine. 

3edaa2d8-9887-495f-ac9a-d2f90de31223My Thoughts: 

I am a huge fan of Christina Lauren’s romance novels. They have never disappointed me, and Twice in a Blue Moon was no exception. While it was not my favorite of theirs, I still really enjoyed it and had tons of fun while reading it. 

Highlights: 

  • Tate and Sam’s whirlwind romance lasts a short two weeks while they are on vacation in London. Even though this is such a short period of time, the story really captured how, when you are young and falling in love for the first time, two weeks can seem like an eternity. CLo really managed to capture what it is like to experience this overwhelming and intense emotion for the first time, and how first love never really fades. 
  • Sam was the first person to ever really know Tate and the first person to encourage her to go after her dreams. In such a short period of time, they manage to help each other figure out who they are and who they want to become as adults. Because of this, their intense connection is even more profound. After all, isn’t this what love is really all about? 
  • The connection to the love story between Luther & Robert/Ellen & Richard was beautifully done. Through the filming of the fictional movie, Milkweed, the reader not only gets to see Tate and Sam’s love story unfold, but also the love story of Sam’s Grandparents. This added a really heartwarming connection and wisdom about love that both Tate and Sam learn from.

Drawback:

  • The only drawback for me was that it ended rather abruptly. I really think that the book needs an epilogue where the authors sum up all of the loose threads. For example, what happened at Tate’s press release? How was the movie received? What did Tate and Sam end up doing with their fame? These were all things that I think most readers will also want answers to. 

Thank you so much Gallery Books and NetGalley for allowing me to read this early edition in exchange for an honest review. Twice in a Blue Moon is out October 22, 2019! 

For more information on Christina Lauren and their books, check them out on Goodreads 

Follow me on Instagram @somewhereinpages & Goodreads @erinrossi

Advertisements
Reviews

Book Review: The Simple Wild ~ by K.A. Tucker

 

novemberwrap-up-10

 

Review: The Simple Wild ~ by K.A. Tucker

388 pages (paperback) ~ Contemporary Romance, New Adult

August 2018 ~ Atria Paperback

My Rating: 4/5

Goodreads Description:

Calla Fletcher wasn’t even two when her mother took her and fled the Alaskan wild, unable to handle the isolation of the extreme, rural lifestyle, leaving behind Calla’s father, Wren Fletcher, in the process. Calla never looked back, and at twenty-six, a busy life in Toronto is all she knows. But when Calla learns that Wren’s days may be numbered, she knows that it’s time to make the long trip back to the remote frontier town where she was born.

She braves the roaming wildlife, the odd daylight hours, the exorbitant prices, and even the occasional—dear God—outhouse, all for the chance to connect with her father: a man who, despite his many faults, she can’t help but care for. While she struggles to adjust to this rugged environment, Jonah—the unkempt, obnoxious, and proud Alaskan pilot who helps keep her father’s charter plane company operational—can’t imagine calling anywhere else home. And he’s clearly waiting with one hand on the throttle to fly this city girl back to where she belongs, convinced that she’s too pampered to handle the wild.

Jonah is probably right, but Calla is determined to prove him wrong. Soon, she finds herself forming an unexpected bond with the burly pilot. As his undercurrent of disapproval dwindles, it’s replaced by friendship—or perhaps something deeper? But Calla is not in Alaska to stay and Jonah will never leave. It would be foolish of her to kindle a romance, to take the same path her parents tried—and failed at—years ago. It’s a simple truth that turns out to be not so simple after all.

_____________________________________________________________________

57a10808-3179-4f57-99af-1216d1cb7b65My Thoughts:  

This book was exactly what I needed right now- something full of warm fuzzy feelings, humor, love, and hope.

I loved:

  • The father/daughter connection between Wren and Calla. It was complicated, heartwarming, bittersweet, and real. Humans are not perfect, and this book really captures the importance of forgiveness, how difficult it can be, and how worth it it is in the end
  • Jonah and Calla’s relationship is so much fun. They bicker and tease, but there is such an honest and genuine love story between them. They support each other through grief and develop a deep appreciation for one another
  • Lastly, the setting! This book is so picturesque. It has caused me to move Alaska to the top of my bucket list. I loved the descriptions of Western Alaska, the lives of the bush pilots, and the stories of the people they help. This was such an interesting element to the book and it was really well done

You would love The Simple Wild if:

  • You have an ongoing obsession with Alaska like I do
  • You enjoyed “Flying Wild Alaska” on the Discovery Channel- which is a really interesting documentary about the life of bush pilots in Western Alaska
  • You like romance with a bitter-sweet edge- The Simple Wild is an adorable love story, but Calla’s journey is not easy. She experiences a lot of loss and it does have moments of sadness. However, Tucker does a great job of balancing it with humor and hopefulness
  • You like romance with adventure, such as The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren, or London Belongs to Me by Jacquelyn Middleton
  • You are a shameless fan of the enemies to lovers trope, such as The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

This was my first K.A. Tucker book and it definitely won’t be that last! I am really looking forward to reading more from her!

For more information on K.A. Tucker and her books, check her out on Goodreads

Click here > SomewhereinPages < to find me on Instagram and here > SomewhereinPages < to find me on Goodreads.